Keep Your Eye On The Money – Identity theft, dodgy credit cards and Adobe

Posted: November 30, 2013 in Dummy Spits, Shame File

The other day I received a letter from the US of A that I thought might be worth sharing with you all.

Unfortunately however the letter was not a pleasant one.

We live in an electronic age where data security is essential for any company that wishes to remain relevant in a digital world.

That is why I was surprised to receive an email from one of the worlds largest software companies letting me know that their system had been hacked and my credit card details may have been stolen.

Below is a link to a PDF of the letter I received.

Letter From Adobe

The company involved is Adobe. Chances are you used Adobe Reader to view the letter via the link.

Adobe are certainly one of the top ten software companies in the world, their products include Adobe Reader, Acrobat, PhotoShop, and Adobe Flash Player.

They are the worlds leading photo editing software supplier and if you have ever created or opened a PDF document, then you have used an Adobe product.

Adobe_promo_code

I am one of countless thousands who subscribe to some of Adobe’s online services so I assume I am just one of countless thousands who received the same letter.

What surprised me the most about the letter was not that their system had been hacked into, although for a company the size of Adobe that is alarming, it is the flippant way in which they have informed their customers.

The best they seemed to be able to come up with was that they were sorry and they will keep looking into it because as yet they have come up with zip.

Their only recommendation is that we monitor our bank statements closely, monitor credit reports (something that costs money), and keep an eye out for identity theft.

As comforting as Adobe think that recommendation may be I think it does the opposite of what was likely intended.

Identity theft is not an easy thing to spot. Chances are you will not find out until there is a repo man knocking at your front door because of a loan default, or a thug kicking the door in to chase a gambling debt, or a call from your accountant to tell you that you are bankrupt.

As for keeping an eye on your account transactions, that is not real comforting either.

At best we have to worry and monitor our accounts more closely than usual, like we have nothing better to do with our time. At worst we will see our credit, or debit cards cancelled leaving us with no access to funds whilst we await replacements to be sent after we notice someone in Mexico has been buying up expensive jewellery and booze on our dime.

identity-theft

What was missing from the letter, which was clearly not run past anybody with an ounce of PR knowledge, is any form of compensation for the inconvenience.

I’m not expecting an all expenses paid holiday in Tahiti (although someone else may be having one on my card) or anything like. However the reason that Adobe have our card details is that we pay for an access to a service monthly. Would it be too much to expect a few free months of that service from a company worth Billions? I don’t think so.

Alas we were offered didley squat, all we got for our loyalty was a letter telling us to worry and watch our backs.

I’m sorry Adobe, but I expected better and I don’t I’m the only one.

Like Wixxyleaks on Facebook here

Like Wixxyleaks on Facebook here

Comments
  1. M. R. says:

    Can’t possibly LIKE that post, Wixxy, eh? But I’m laughing: haven’t used PhotoShop in my rather long life! Would you believe I used Corel Photo Paint 10, instead? – AND I can get exactly what I want from it. Doesn’t cost me a bean. I use Cute PDF Writer (free), too. But I will admit to using Acrobat Reader (or whatever they’re calling it these days); so I’ll have to find something else for that, too. Thanks for the heads-up!

  2. It’s a big problem for people like me who read ebooks. The alternative to Kindle is ePUB, which requires an Adobe account so that the ebooks you buy can be read on a Windows computer (using Adobe Digital Editions) or on a tablet, because all the Android reading apps all require an Adobe account in order to read ebooks with DRM (Digital Rights Management). DRM limits ebooks to being read by a program authorised through your Adobe account, using an email address and password.

    Thanks to Adobe’s failure to safely store passwords, I have had to change my passwords. More importantly, like many people, I use only a few passwords, so I’ve had to change all my other passwords that are the same as the Adobe one. Fortunately I’m sensible enough to use unique passwords for the very important things, like internet banking.

  3. Thank the Lordie above that I trashed that email pronto. Thanks for the thumbs up on this scam

  4. Ricky Pann says:

    Mate an Absurd Post I am a Creative Cloud Client in my second year of subscription. There was a hole in the CC client server and it was repaired within 24 hours. Firstly it is only if you have an adobe ID account and they have the email address nothing else as soon as you change the password all they have is a spam list,

    • wixxy says:

      I am just going by what they say in their letter

    • oldfart says:

      You do realise that most of the hacking occurs against data warehouses(virtual servers) clouds again virtual servers, No IT consultant will guarantee the same level of security on virtual collections that one can achieve on a physical server. This is being found out the hard way by people and governmentswho’s data is being made very public through hacking groups. Wikki leaks is a prime example Virtual collections are at best only as secure as the part of the collection feeding into it with the lowest security in place

  5. oldfart says:

    At a personal level, may I recommend that you contact your bank and ask about putting safeguards on your accounts that require sms verification should an amount over a certain sum be charged to your cards or if it is overseas without prior arrangement by you. Better dsafe than sorry

Leave a Reply

